PGA PGM 3.0 Level 1 Knowledge Practice Test 2025 - Free PGA PGM Level 1 Practice Questions and Study Guide

Question: 1 / 660

Does a player who checks their downswing before hitting the ball still take a stroke?

Yes

No

A player who checks their downswing before hitting the ball does not take a stroke because the act of checking the downswing is not considered a completed swing. In golf, a stroke is defined as an intentional effort to strike the ball with a club. If the player stops the motion before making contact with the ball, it does not count as a stroke since the swing was never completed.

This situation is crucial for players to understand as it helps clarify what constitutes a stroke according to the rules of golf. A player is only charged a stroke when they genuinely strike the ball, and in this case, the action of stopping the swing prior to contact means no stroke occurs. Thus, the player has simply altered their swing without making a legal attempt at hitting the ball.

Get further explanation with Examzify DeepDiveBeta

Only if the club touches the ball

Yes, but with penalty

Next Question

Report this question

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy